The Americans, by Robert Frank

Social issues

On the road.
I think I wish to escape from this comfortable surroundings, to escape from this social duties and conventions. Get lost in the desert of nothing where there is everything.

Looking at The Americans. Jack Kerouac’s introduction (available here) is quite though to understand but the last sentences caught my mind :
   ‘Robert Frank, Swiss, unobtrusive, nice, with that little camera that he raises and snaps with one hand he sucked a sad poem right out of America onto film, taking rank among the tragic poets of the world. 
     To Robert Frank I now give this message: You got eyes. 
     And I say : That little ole lonely elevator girl looking up sighing in an elevator full of blurred demaons, what’s her name & address?’

What is incredible is that I looked at the pictures and liked some of them. I wanted to note their captions (summarize at the end), but I had to look back again to note their page number. And I realized that I didn’t even see all of them. My mind flow above some beautiful frames. Captions let draw the context and sometimes changed my perception of photographs. It is this kind of book to look at not only once, we need to come back and discover more mysterious, gaze at more details to reveal parts of the whole American story.

Parade – Hokoben, New Jersey
City fathers – Hoboken, New Jersey
Rodeo – Detroit
Navy Recruiting Station, Post Office – Butte, Montana
Motorama, LA
Charleston, South Carolina
Butte, Montana
Yom Kippur – East River, NYC
Trolley – New Orleans
Canal Street – New Orleans
Yale Commencement – Connecticut
Bar – Las Vegas, Nevada
U.S.91, leaving Blackfoot, Idaho
U.S. 285, New Mexico
Elevator – Miami Beach
Cocktail party – NYC
Beaufort – Soutth Carolina
Courthouse square – Elizabethville, North Carolina
Detroit
Public park – Ann Arbor, Michigan

Leave a Reply

